top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Banks

On this time inside of my house, and being able to think

Updated: May 23, 2020

Hey! Whats the first reason someone doesn’t direct? Because they don’t know about lenses! This realization opened my eyes since I’ve been inside my house. When I moved away from Boston and to NYC I literally had no idea what having lines felt like, I didn’t know about lighting, about aar’s, overdubs. I didn’t know about angles or the best way to hold the camera in order to advance the story. I didn’t know about lenses or the importance of picking between them. I didn’t understand cinematography. I didn’t know what blocking was. I didn’t know the importance of rehearsal or what it meant when you step on set for the first day of work. I never studied before (not for acting). I didn’t know what location or casting directors did. I didn’t know the difference between them and an assistant director. I didn’t know the difference between all of them and a producer. I didn’t have a talent manager. I didn’t have an agent. So I’m asking myself now that I have the time to-what exactly is going on here? Well I’ll give you a guess-I’m learning! I’m learning so very much. And It’s beyond amazing, not to mention incredibly rewarding. I haven’t had this quiet time to be able to crystallize the experience I’ve been going through and what it means for my future. Why? Because I only focus on the work. I focus on the auditions. I focus on submissions. I focus on my material. I focus on the communication. I focus on my marketing. I focus on self tapes. I focus on work. I focus on staying connected, sharing love with those in my life and with those who I just met. When I’m on set I solely focus on what I can do to help move the project along. If that means picking up a water bottle that is by the sound persons feet before they step on it and ruin the take - then that’s what I will do. If it means solely focusing on doing my job as an actor-that’s what i do. If the director asks me for my opinion or help or anything at all-that’s what i focus on. If it meant learning something new or gaining/losing weight - that’s what I focus on. I try to listen to everyone I come across. I love learning from people- which is probably why I love being on set. I’m capable of so much. I’ve only been allowed to be the bad guy, how lucky am I! I am so fortunate to be able to audition and work as much as I have been able to.

Growing up Mrs. Doubtfire, The Mask and Ace Ventura - these movies shaped my creative imagination. They shaped my desire to want to be an actor in the first place. And I must finally throw these chains I put on myself off so I can allow the true actor inside of me, the improv, to come out. So I can flourish. I need to. I need to be on set. I want to spend the rest of my life there, with my people - building a team. Working toward something special, meaningful, important work. Wether it’s to the writer director producer or audience-I just want to work on important work. I want to invest wholly, and completely. This is only speed I know how to go when working. I give NYC credit for that. I do not burn out, I feed off it. I feed off being exhausted by means of important work, meaningful work. Learning something new, a new word, a new anything - there is nothing better. I want to take on big things in my life. I want to help people in a big way. I want to share what I have learned with the world and with whoever else wants to listen. I want to do a lot in these next 10 years. I have no time to waste if I’m going to accomplish it all.

I’ve lived such a life and am going through such an experience that I hope to bring all of that and couple it with the knowledge I have obtained not only in school but spending thousands of hours and hundreds of days on film television and commercial sets since I moved to New York City.


Recent Posts

See All

On Mr. Rogers...

Having saw A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood and as a follow up to my post about Mr. Rogers from months ago.. Fred Rogers was no saint. The life that Fred lived, the choices he made, aren’t unattain

On Joker, and The Lighthouse..

Seeing Joaquin Pheonix getting into the skin of Arthur Fleck really woke me up. I’ve had a ton of auditions and a lot of opportunities since moving to New York, and I feel like the chains i keep on my

bottom of page